About the CAC

The TJPA’s Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) was created to advise the TJPA Board of Directors on matters of public interest relating to the Transbay Program (TJPA CAC Bylaws). Representing the diversity of the Bay Area, the CAC includes fifteen voting members appointed by the TJPA Board of Directors, plus one non-voting TJPA staff member liaison. Voting members are appointed for two-year terms, except seven members who served an initial one year term upon creation of the body. Each member is eligible to serve a maximum of three consecutive terms.

Members represent each of the following categories:

TJPA Citizens Advisory Committee

Daily Caltrain Rider into San Francisco
(Belal Aftab, Vice Chair)

Daily AC Transit Rider into San Francisco
(Robert Feinbaum)

Daily MUNI Rider on a line through the Transit Center
(Owen Stephens)

Local Resident from District 6 (zip code 94105 or 94107)
(Gloria Li)

Local Business from District 6 (zip code 94105 or 94107)
(Andrew Robinson)

(Derrick Holt, Chair)

Member of a planning or good-government non-profit organization
(Jackson Fahnestock)

Representative from labor
(Sean McGarry)

Bicycle advocate
(Dan Bell)

Disabled advocate
(Paul Bendix)

San Francisco based public transit advocate
(Howard Wong)

Regional transit advocate
(Richard Burnett)

Regional transit advocate

Member of the Citywide (San Francisco) business community
(Charles Lavery)

Member with expertise in real estate development or real estate finance
(Mark O’Dell)